Home > Politics > Who else will South DeKalb choose

Who else will South DeKalb choose

July 8, 2010

I am taking a time out from the more interesting 4th district race to look at  other races that affect us here in South DeKalb.

Here is a rundown of the Governor’s race from the Southern Political Report. I personally have not made up my mind in this one. Barnes is making in-roads with me with his commercials that allude to his experience as a former Governor.  To be honest, he is perhaps the best person for this job. I think Thurbert Baker could do the job well, I just don’t see myself voting for him. The race on the Republican side is more interesting. Karen Handel will not get my vote; there is something about her style that I have not liked since she was commission chair in Fulton County. She seems more like an opportunist, playing on voter fears than on actually solving problems. On her website she says she balanced the Fulton budget, with no mention about the commissioners who also helped balance that budget. She just rubs me the wrong way.  As for her opponents, Oxendine and Deal, they seem to have some ethics issues that could make governing difficult at best. Here and here are two Peach Pundit stories about “Ox” that questions his ethics. Seems to me that he can do some questionable things that makes one wonder about his decision making skills.  Nathan Deal, on the other hand, was found to have committed ethics violations while in the U.S. House. Seems he made some questionable moves as it relates to his business. Here is a quick summary from Huffington Post. What he was found guilty of is probably par for the course in the world of politics. The question is will it hurt his run for Governor? In my opinion, it probably won’t hurt him. And finally there is Eric Johnson, lifelong Republican and basically unknown to me until I saw some video of him. I can’t remember if it was TV or internet, but the one thing that stuck in my skull was the statement that he believed in the constitution that our Founding Fathers believed in or something along those lines. For me that is a deal breaker no matter what party you are affiliated with or how charming or successful you may be.

For the few thousand South DeKalb residents in the 13th congressional district, do not vote for David Scott. There is enough paper work about this guy’s ethics, it is surreal. Just Google him. Here, I did it for you. He is not what you want in a U.S. Rep. He is just clean enough to not be caught up in anything serious or do jail time, but if you keep sending him to Washington it just may happen. CREW rated him as one of the most corrupt members of Congress in 2007. If you do enough homework, you will not vote for this guy.  Let me move on to Rupert Parchment. I had seen his signs pop up around the extreme southern portion of the county in recent weeks. I had no Idea who this dude was until I watched a debate among the Republicans running for office. Do not vote for this guy. He lives in Midtown far away from the district. Although it may be legal, which he points out in the televised debate, it is misleading. Do you not like the housing stock in the 13th? Do you not like the environment in the 13th? Whatever his reason,  Why not run against John Lewis, after all that is his Rep, and would be his Rep in congress. He is a fraud just like David Scott. So who to vote for? Well my money and vote would go to Deborah Honeycutt. Check her out here. She is a doctor who has a clinic or two on the southside of the metro. This is her second run for this seat, and she made a respectable run in 2008. In that election she received 31% of the vote. Unlike some of her counterparts, she resides in the district she wants to represent, so she is not pulling a David Scott, and living outside of the district.  She also is a moderate Republican. She does not want to see America fenced off from the rest of the world like many of her Republican mates. And she is not afraid to say what her position is on a variety of issues including abortion which she calls a national offense. I did watch her in a debate recently, which you can check out here. She was not as sharp with her responses as I had hoped, but hell, our last president was about as sharp as a bowling ball, so that should not preclude her from being in Congress. I hope voters in the 13th boot Scott and send him back to Inman Park to fight with his neighbors over a community garden.

Where I got my info:

http://www.sos.georgia.gov/elections/election_results/2008_1104/029.htm

http://www.huffingtonpost.com

http://www.peachpundit.com

http://www.karenhandel.com

http://www.southernpoliticalreport.com/

http://www.citizensforethics.org/node/30131

http://www.honeycuttforcongress.com/

  1. July 14, 2010 at 9:23 pm

    Any chance you’ve been able to look at the race for DeKalb County Commission, Super District 7?

    • South DeKalb
      July 14, 2010 at 9:59 pm

      I have not. I wanted to do a series on all candidates that would represent any part of S. Dekalb, but as a one man shop with a career and a toddler, my time resources are limited.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
