Home > Politics, Society > Does Lowery endorsement help Johnson?

Does Lowery endorsement help Johnson?

July 7, 2010

Does him backing a candidate make the candidate more appealing

Lowery to endorse U.S. Rep. Johnson  | ajc.com.

Does this endorsement carry much weight? I mean Lowery has been around for decades, and for many in my generation, getting an endorsement from him seems to mean more of the same old people running a broke system. Not to be knocking Rev. Lowery, but how much weight does this endorsement actually carry, especially in a district that has a median age of about 33 years. Although, he may sway some older voters in this district, I doubt this will be a knockout blow to any of the candidates Johnson is facing. I would venture to say that an endorsement from T.I (God help us))or Gucci Mane (God help us more))would swing the pendulum farther than one from a civil rights icon. Like it or not, this is the way it is.

Info:

http://www.ajc.com/

http://factfinder.census.gov

  1. Simone Smith
    July 12, 2010 at 2:54 pm

    It would really be nice to see the regular everyday person come out and endorse some of these candidates. No offense to Mr. Lowery and the work he’s done he is very much respected in my eyes but Mr. Lowery is not in need of a job nor does he live in the 4th district. I also don’t see how he is capable of providing some type of influence on an informed voter when he really isn’t close to these issue that the common man is facing.

  2. Dale
    July 12, 2010 at 4:12 am

    I somewhat agree with Lodak. Lowery’s endorsement didn’t help Jim Martin against Saxby Chambliss. I would vote for a candidate who is endorsed by regular people any day. We recycle the same old people. I would rather meet Hank in person here his ideas on how to take the county to the next level rather than the same old rhetoric in a press release.

  3. Lodak
    July 8, 2010 at 10:20 pm

    [Flame bait follows, you’ve been warned]

    I’m so over these relics from a by gone era. Clinging to relevance by constantly reminding us how “bad it was” and at the same time advancing an agenda with racist democrats [from the same era, nonetheless] to keep struggling black citizens as dependent on government as possible. Lowery, Jackson, Sharpton, and Jackson all need to sit down.

    His endorsement does nothing to help me like Hank more…actually, I like him less now.

    That being said, a T.I. endorsement wouldn’t help either. Where are the endorsements from the business community? Entrepreneurs? Police departments? Your know, relevant endorsements?

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
